More intelligent track reloading and resetting

More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby Wuzzy » 06 Aug 2014, 03:03

Hi! I think Stunt Rally quite often wants to reload tracks when it is actually not neccessary.

For example, when passing a track of a challenge has failed and the player clicks “continue”, SR reloads the entire track. But I think this is not nessesary, everything has already been loaded. I think a simple reset is totally sufficient.

Also, would it really be neccessary to reload the entire track if everything which has changed is the driving direction or the car?

And I noticed that dynamic objects get not reset to their starting positions when a simple track reset is made. This can be sometimes annoying if some objects went to the round because of crashes from the previous try. Or objects previously blocking the road were pushed away, thereby making the next try easier. So I think all objects must be reset on a track restart.
User avatar
Wuzzy
 
Posts: 470
Joined: 28 May 2012, 23:13

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby CryHam » 06 Aug 2014, 07:37

True. I agree.
This is because dynamic objects aren't set with reset, are with reload.
IIRC only this reason, but need to check.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby Calinou » 06 Aug 2014, 17:42

In order to make sure it's entirely fair, only a reload will completely clean up the scene currently. I don't know whether it's possible for dynamic objects to be reset upon using F4.
User avatar
Calinou
 
Posts: 161
Joined: 22 Jan 2010, 21:43
Location: France

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby CryHam » 06 Aug 2014, 19:52

Should be possible, even if not, then we could just delete all and create again. Still faster than reloading whole scene.
I had also plans to not reload track if only car changed. Nope, that isn't the nicest code there.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby CryHam » 15 Aug 2015, 13:56

Is on master. Please test.
So, F4 resets objects always.
And now F5 doesn't reload track if it is the same, just resets objects,
it does always reload cars and Hud etc. But it is quite fast now.
Probably if cars were same F5 should just reset objects like F4. IDK if worth it.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby scrawl » 10 Sep 2015, 01:32

Since this new reloading code was added, I can no longer apply graphics settings marked with "need new game" by pressing "new game" on the same track. Is that intended?
scrawl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 21:20

Re: More intelligent track reloading and resetting

Postby CryHam » 10 Sep 2015, 05:56

Ah crap, forgot about that. Thanks. Fixed.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest