[Fixed] Multiplayer broken (even local) in 2.3

[Fixed] Multiplayer broken (even local) in 2.3

Postby Massi » 11 Jul 2014, 10:58

Hi,
I have Stunt Rally 2.3, installed from the playdeb repository on Ubuntu 14.04, on two computers in a local lan.

I am trying to setup a networked multiplayer game, I do the following:

[Computer A]
Single race -> Multiplayer -> Create Game

[Computer B]
Single race -> Multiplayer -> Direct connect -> use IP of computer A

Then the machines are connected, the player on computer B can push "Ready", its status is visible on computer A, and the two players can chat.

However:
[1] each player sees itself twice in the list of players
[2] the player on computer A is never in status "ready", and cannot push the "start" button to start the game.

What am I missing?

Thanks!
_ Massi
Massi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jul 2014, 10:48

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby CryHam » 11 Jul 2014, 13:56

Forwarding port on both computers.
(Sometimes works with one only)
Settings tab has it (the local port), 4243 by default.

https://code.google.com/p/vdrift-ogre/w ... ultiplayer
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby Massi » 11 Jul 2014, 15:57

Hmmm... player on computer B can connect to the game created by A, and both players can chat successfully.
We are on a local lan and we do not have configured a firewall, so I both computers can access each other's port.

Do you mean that the main server ("stuntrally.dy.fi") must be able to see the two computers even if I created a game locally?
Alternatively, which is the program that starts a game server so I can start one on my lan?

Thanks,
_ Massi
Massi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jul 2014, 10:48

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby CryHam » 11 Jul 2014, 16:06

Main server is just for game's list, games appear there.
Direct connect doesn't need it.
But for both computers to communicate we need forwarded ports.
Chat and and gui use tcp, game uses udp.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby Tapio » 15 Jul 2014, 21:22

CryHam {l Wrote}:Main server is just for game's list, games appear there.
Direct connect doesn't need it.
But for both computers to communicate we need forwarded ports.
Chat and and gui use tcp, game uses udp.

Master server announces the game to others with the IP it sees the original announcement coming from. This will be an external IP, so if using the global master server, port forwarding is mandatory. You can also run the master server locally (program "sr-masterserver"), in which case all gamers need to change their master server address in the multiplayer settings tab. Probably least hassle is just using direct connect with the LAN IP addresses as CryHam suggested (no need for master server or port forwarding). Everything uses udp protocol btw.
User avatar
Tapio
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 Nov 2012, 08:10

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby krash » 16 Jul 2014, 11:11

I experienced the same problem as Massi, the host player name appeared twice.
It was however still possible to start a network game - one had to press Connect really fast (as far as I remember ...).
I never really had the time to further look into it, but I will try to describe the issue more clearly.
krash
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 01:11

Re: Starting a networked multiplayer game

Postby CryHam » 16 Jul 2014, 12:16

Hmm. We did test with Calinou recently and we had the same issue.
We both had ports forwarded and firewalls opened.
Sth seems to be broken. It clearly should work.
My nick appeared twice. And I couldn't press Start, was disabled.
The 2nd one appeared after Calinou joined. Regardless of if he or me was hosting the game.
Can someone remember this working before and since when not working maybe ?
All I did recently was put translated strings to network messages. I can't remember anything before.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Re: multiplayer broken (even local) ...

Postby CryHam » 27 Jul 2014, 11:13

OK, so apparently multiplayer was broken, seems like in 2.3, maybe even in 2.2 no idea (though I remember testing it in 2.2 and worked).
Right now, if you want to play, the only way is to press Ready and Start (on host) really fast. Before your 'ghost' nick appears 2nd time in list.

And it's now fixed on master. We tested it.
Has just some lesser issues with no poses on minimap and game info isn't updated after 1st race.
User avatar
CryHam
SR Moderator
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 25 Nov 2012, 08:40

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest