quick hello!

quick hello!

Postby IkarusDowned » 12 Nov 2012, 06:05

Hi all,

My name is Nik,
I'm a professional software developer and I recently wanted to get back to my gaming / graphics programming life.
Roots contacted me through the gamedev.net Classifieds area, and he suggested I say hello on the forums :)

Currently I'm working on getting my build environment setup, but I'm looking forward to trying to contributing as much as I can.
So...where can I help :)
IkarusDowned

Re: quick hello!

Postby Bertram » 12 Nov 2012, 12:45

Hi Nik,

and Welcome on board! :)

I do think, as a contributor, you should first set up a github account, if not done already, and drop by on the Valyria Tear issue list to get to know what are the current plans and discussion that aren't part of this forum yet.
https://github.com/Bertram25/ValyriaTear/issues

Also, it depends on your different skills in the different area of the game, and and how you want to participate, of course.
the most interesting post about what to do, the last time, was this one, in term of coding features:
https://github.com/Bertram25/ValyriaTea ... nt-9709808

(Basic triggers objects have since been implemented but can be improved).
Note also, that environmental sounds (looped sounds which volume is based on the distance the character is from its source point), and step sounds based on the terrain type when running are something I'm finding interesting.

The only thing I'm not interested with, are story proposals, and resources related to that, regarding the unreleased part of the story.
For the released part of the story, I open to any comment/improvements.

Best regards,

Bertram
Bertram
VT Moderator

Postby IkarusDowned » 12 Nov 2012, 15:55

Hi Bertram,

check on the github account, i've already grabbed the code and was poking around. tried to get things working with VC10 but was having some headaches with the a few of the libraries so i'm trying C::B and mingw out now.