So, weapon balance...

So, weapon balance...

Postby fawstoar » 03 Jan 2014, 05:40

I haven't really been as active as I used to be in the RE community & around the forums, so I feel as though I'm somewhat out of the loop regarding recent changes to the game. I decided to fire up the game today and mess around in some good old deathmatches, and quite frankly it feels as though the weapons are completely out of whack.

While I realize this is a delicate subject and something that quin has spent a great deal of time honing and perfecting, I'm just curious at this point if I'm just ridiculously rusty and forgetting how the balance used to be or if other players might share my sentiments. The following criticism is intended to be constructive, and it is entirely subjective (though you might take into account that I've been playing RE for about 5 years now).

Overall, the weapons are all extremely weak compared to their former versions. If my memory serves me correctly, this is the result of several revisions, but I fear that at this point the nerfs have become too extensive.

Weapon specific reviews:
- The sword is simply no longer viable - its lack of accuracy and completely disproportionate risk/reward ratio makes it impossible to use effectively. Two secondary hits no longer appear to warrant a kill, and these hits are extremely difficult to land - there are many times when I feel as though the weapon should hit, but it doesn't.
- The shotgun and the smg are so effective given their respective time to kill and range that there is no point in using any other weapon (unless you happen to have ridiculously good aim with the rifle's secondary). The latest buffs to the smg have made it an unstoppable death machine when compared to the relatively mild plasma and flamer.
- Speaking of which, while the flamer is decent, its damage over time does not make up for the superior damage of the smg or shotgun.