CC Licensing Quantum Mechanics

CC Licensing Quantum Mechanics

Postby Nikita_Sadkov » 04 Aug 2015, 21:01

There is a lot of contradiction with CC licenses.

To give you an example, http://opengameart.org/content/the-revolution-snow states
> License(s): CC-BY-SA 3.0

and the original site confirms: https://web.archive.org/web/20140416105 ... leset.html
> All content on this website is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported

yet at the same it time states:
- This tileset is free to use for all none commercial projects
- Please contact me for commercial use

so what would happen, if anybody uses such (lets dub it "Schrodinger CC") content in a commercial project?

In other words, what would judge decide if author sues, saying that he both allowed and forbade commercial use at the same time? What would take priority?
Nikita_Sadkov

Re: CC Licensing Quantum Mechanics

Postby onpon4 » 05 Aug 2015, 00:44

I'm not a lawyer, but this is what I think about it: since the author clearly and unambiguously stated that all "content" on the website is under that license, and especially considering that those statements don't say that commercial use without contacting the author is forbidden (they only request it), I don't think the author can reasonably claim that the work is not distributable under that license. If they could, that would basically invalidate claims such as, "all of my work on such-and-such archive is released to the public domain", which I think have been made before, and such works used by e.g. the Debian project.
onpon4

Postby c_xong » 05 Aug 2015, 01:02

If the original author is posting it then they are allowed to offer multiple licenses. The one on OGA doesn't have those extra clauses so it is simply CC BY-SA 3.0
c_xong

Postby Nikita_Sadkov » 05 Aug 2015, 01:49