Weekly Gameplay Challenges

Weekly Gameplay Challenges

Postby Snooz » 02 Jan 2023, 21:07

Hello fellow SuperTuxers, I'm Snooz. I've been playing SuperTux since like 2007, and I currently hold multiple speedrun World Records in this game.

For 2023, I am launching a concept that I've already hosted before: Weekly Gameplay Challenges.

However this time, I've gathered a team of experienced players to assist me, and there's a reward for anyone to claim!

It will all be happening in the official SuperTux Discord server: https://discord.gg/AcvtHWz

The first challenge is to be announced next Monday: Jan 9th, 2023.

Here is a copy-paste of the announcement made in the SuperTux server:

What are weekly Gameplay Challenges (WGC)?

WGCs are the weekly occasion for every SuperTux player to show off their skill level.

Any WGC is of the following format:

- Objective : Finish [selected official (or addon) level] with [selected restriction/task]

They always come with a hard mode, which adds an additional restriction/task to the normal mode.

There are some rules to be eligible for victory :

1) The version to use is 0.6.3 -> no nightlies, mods, etc.

2) No modification of the level, or files of the game (images, audios, etc.) are allowed

3) The level must be done in a single segment, and the video proof must show the entire run.

4) Having Developer Mode enabled is okay, but no instance of Cheat Menu / Debug Menu are allowed during the run.

5) Unless stated in the challenge, you are allowed to start the level with any powerup, with any amount of it, and collect them throughout the level.

A WGC lasts for a week, Monday to Monday, and it is the duration you dispose to complete it.

What do I win if I complete the challenge?

The standard reward for completing a challenge is a shoutout at the end of the week, along with every victor.

However, you can get a cooler, special reward if you manage to do one of these 2: