Open Source Adventure game similar to Sonic Adventure

Open Source Adventure game similar to Sonic Adventure

Postby Game Gear » 30 May 2016, 18:10

Since playing the best selling Sega Dreamcast game, Sonic Adventure, I've been inspired to create a game similar to it. The only problem is, I have no knowledge of coding. What I want is to form a team of developers to help me create this game. Here are my ideas.

1. Compatibility. This game needs to be compatible with the latest and previous versions of Windows and Linux (If you wanna make an OS X version, go ahead.) It will need to support Windows XP SP3. Ubuntu 10.04 compatibility or 12.04 would be nice. I would want to keep the system requirements lower. Pentium 4 2.8 GHz, 1 GB RAM, and 96 MB of Video memory (Intel 86256G support if possible.) Most people today will have more than enough power with those requirements, but support for older computers like my IBM Thinkcentre (I have newer PCs like my Alienware m17x) would be great.

2. Isometric or 3D gameplay. If 3D is too hard (although OpenArena is 3D) then I'll settle for isometric like in Sonic 3D Blast. I wouldn't need the cutscenes like in Sonic Adventure, but if that is possible, that would be so cool. If we did, I could do some voices.

3. Music. We'd need free, uncopyrighted music that would fit the game well.

4. Create our own engine or use one that already exists. I have no knowledge of good engines.

5. Sprites, backgrounds, and other stuff I didn't mention.