Point and click adventures

Point and click adventures

Postby gordebak » 29 Jan 2011, 09:58

What does everyone think of point and click adventure games? Do you think we need more of them for Linux? Like LucasArts games, i.e. Day of The Tentacle?

I'm fairly new to developing games, so I can't make one anytime soon, but is it worth the effort? Do people play ScummVM games?
gordebak
MnMS Moderator

Re: Point and click adventures

Postby Arthur » 29 Jan 2011, 13:29

Not too long ago, I discovered the Monkey Island series, and started out playing MI 3 in ScummVM, then MI 1-3 in ScummVM and 4-5 in Windows since they didn't work too well in Wine. You may laugh at this, but I had no idea these games existed until a friend of mine introduced them. And I got to say, they (especially MI 1-3) are some of the most enjoyable games I've ever tried. :D

So while point-and-click adventures seems to have gone somewhat out of fashion, I believe there are good chances to get a valuable niche "market" for a well-made PaC adventure game. Furthermore, 2D seems to me like a great format for such a game (as opposed to FPS games, which people expect to be 3D).

Just my 2 pieces o' eight. ;)
Hey pal, I took an oath for justice! "In happy days or tightest tights..." or something like that.
Arthur

Postby gordebak » 29 Jan 2011, 13:38

Yeah, they are very enjoyable if written well. I'm a big fan of them.

Just planning to make one for Linux, but you know, their replayability is quite low. So, I don't know if it's worth the effort.

Most people are just crazy about 3d nowadays. I have an old-fashioned mind, and I love 2d games with soul. Wondering what people think.
gordebak
MnMS Moderator

Postby Peter » 30 Jan 2011, 05:40

I like point and click adventures and have played monkey island 1-3 and a few others. I have not seen any native point and click adventures for Linux so that would be nice.