Translate the game into Chainese Help

Translate the game into Chainese Help

Postby ming.yan2 » 12 Apr 2012, 07:34

Hi
I am a Australia National Student on my Free Open Source Development project, now I want to translate this very interesting game "me and my shadow" into Chinese, but I don't know how to implement it, could you please give me some help and support, just tell me what tools to use, and I will do the rest. Thank you very much! :)
ming.yan2

Re: Translate the game into Chainese Help

Postby Edward_Lii » 12 Apr 2012, 16:25

Hello ming.yan2,

ming.yan2 {l Wrote}:I am a Australia National Student on my Free Open Source Development project, now I want to translate this very interesting game "me and my shadow" into Chinese, but I don't know how to implement it, could you please give me some help and support, just tell me what tools to use, and I will do the rest. Thank you very much! :)

Any help is welcome! :)

There's only one problem, acme_pjz already made a Simplified Chines translation for the game.
Luckily the levelpacks can also be translated, so I'll explain the progress of translating.
Our plan was to translate not long before the release to prevent the need to update the translation when a new string is added or one changed.
But I don't think the texts in the levelpacks will change before the next release.

To translate the game, there needs to be a translation file (.po) for that language.
The .po files are generated from a template file (.pot) which contains the strings from the game/levelpack.
There are many tools that can be used to create .po files, one of them is Poedit.

Start poedit, select File->New catalog from POT file...
Now select a 'messages.pot' file from either <data-dir>/locale/ or <data-dir>/levelpacks/<packname>/locale/.
You'll need to fill in a few details and you're ready to start translating.

When your done you can save the file using the POSIX naming convention.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Locale#POSIX_platforms