FreeGamer Article Discussion

FreeGamer Article Discussion

Postby Bertram » 18 Mar 2014, 10:32

Hi Charlie, :)

charlie {l Wrote}:Hey Bertram, perhaps a good way to get a bit more interest might be a Free Gamer article on OD. How about you posting a summary of the challenges you/paul/etc have overcome the last few months (so add a bit of a story/background to the release) and I bet we could get a few more eyes on the project.

This would great for the project, indeed. Plus, Elvano asked for the same thing in the OD new site in the making.
I can post a summary of what has been done, and what is about to be done (from nido, Paul and me, for instance), this would help us sum where we are, btw.
But I won't be able to post much about history / background of the OD project, since after all I'm a noob, right?
I'd thus request help from ReZ, Danimal, Skorpio, Elvano, oln, nido and Paul for that (I hope I'm not forgetting someone active) . And for the fresh spontaneousness of the overall article, maybe we could use Julius and you for the reviewing?

So, what have been done the latest month in OD:
- Used something like two months spare-time on my machine to let OD try to compile on windows with many, many failures. This alone proved how naive I can be. XD
But in the end, OD finally compiled fine using MSVC11 (2012), which the minimal version that has the necessary C++11x features required, btw.
Compiling OD dependencies using MingW was tried at first, but ended up with unlinkable dependency files, due their source being compilable with different flavour of GCC only. The problem was seen between Ogre and CEGui and I hope that in the future they will improve that because those project's guys are cool, helping and all. They simply lack time supporting this.

Paul also helped porting the code to the newest dependencies version, effort that was necessary to make windows binary possible, btw.