"hello" and a patch

"hello" and a patch

Postby domtron » 12 Jun 2013, 16:50

Hello, Ran into OD while looking through the freegamedev forum index. I have built OD from source and played a little with the code. I am a programmer in the USA with most of my experience in Python and Javascript/Node.js, both self-taught. I have a C++ college class coming up so I have been studying the language ahead of time. I usually have no time to program during the school year, but I'm good at coming back to the same OS project once I get free time. I previously worked on http://blog.PARPG.net/(python game), under the same username, until the project was closed down, this is why I'm looking for a new project to help out.

I read through some of the code and decided to fix one of the simple TODO tags. I renumbered the tile IDs, so nullTileType was 0, in Tile.h and reflected the changes in the map file(with a python script) and Tile.cpp >> Tile::getTilePassability(). I rebuilt it and tested it and didn't run into any errors. I have attached a patch file and the python script I used to edit the level file. I haven't made a patch in a long time so tell me if there is a problem.

--Domtron Vox
Attachments
nullTileType_renumber.patch
(276.55 KiB) Downloaded 361 times
add_one_to_map_types.py
(545 Bytes) Downloaded 370 times
domtron

Re: "hello" and a patch

Postby Danimal » 12 Jun 2013, 18:32

Hello Domtron, your help is most welcome, right now our two core coders are taking a rest from the project due to life issues (like a thesis) so we are left with only artists at the moment. Any help you can provide would be great to us.
Danimal
OD Moderator

Postby Skorpio » 12 Jun 2013, 18:49

Cool, thanks for the help and welcome to the forum. The development is pretty slow at the moment and the project really needs programmers and of course other contributors as well, even if they just provide ideas.