IRC clients

IRC clients

Postby Wuzzy » 03 Dec 2019, 16:03

So, this kinda relates to FOSS games, very losely, but it mostly relates to FOSS in generall.

Many FOSS projects use IRC for chatting, and I think it's a good thing. However, I am concerned that current IRC clients are not exactly inviting to complete newbies. Current IRC clients are not that bad, but there's always something that just feels off, usability-wise. Either it's just feature-creep, or they are littered with awkward technical terms, or the widgets are arranged in a strange way, or the interface just looks ugly, etc.

So I am asking you which IRC client you would recommend for a complete beginner. So that I have something that FOSS projects can point their users to with peace-of-mind.

(This is not about a client for me. I do have a client and I'm happy with it, but I wouldn't recommend it to beginners because it has some obscure features.)
Wuzzy

Re: IRC clients

Postby Julius » 03 Dec 2019, 16:47

https://webchat.freenode.net/

Is probably the easiest. Works with KiwiIRCnext. But in regards to IRC webclients, both The Lounge and Convos are also good and easier to self-host than KiwiIRCNext.

On Android "Revolution IRC" is really nice, but IRC itself isn't that great on mobile connections. https://f-droid.org/en/packages/io.mrarm.irc/

On Linux Polari is really nice: https://wiki.gnome.org/Apps/Polari

On legacy Windows, not sure (who in their right mind still uses that outdated stuff?), Quassel seems to have a port to that legacy OS: https://quassel-irc.org/
Julius
Community Moderator

Postby Wuzzy » 03 Dec 2019, 17:19

Thank you.