Page 1 of 1

Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 03 Jun 2016, 18:47
by paul424
ODscreenshot_2016-06-03_194055_1.png

Hello, I tried a few snippets from here : http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-index.php?page=Basic+Tutorial+2&structure=Tutorials#Using_Shadows_in_Ogre , but nothing casts the shadows except rat ? What it is ? In previous iterations I had no problems turning the shadows that way .
I do in void RenderManager::rrCreateRenderedMovableEntity(RenderedMovableEntity* renderedMovableEntity)




{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
    if(ent != nullptr)
        ent->setCastShadows(true);


Do we want a shadowed version of OD or not ? I think the shadowed version looks much nicer.
BTW : what';s so special in that rat ?


EDIT : I of course enable it when the sceneManager is created :
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
mSceneMgr->setAmbientLight(Ogre::ColourValue(0, 0, 0));
mSceneMgr->setShadowTechnique(Ogre::SHADOWTYPE_STENCIL_ADDITIVE);

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 04 Jun 2016, 00:20
by charlie
paul424 {l Wrote}:Do we want a shadowed version of OD or not ? I think the shadowed version looks much nicer.

Of course; shadows make games look very atmospheric. Just as long as it is an option because not everybody has PCs that can handle them.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 04 Jun 2016, 00:51
by Loobinex
In that case it should be a game wide setting in the settings/video menu to show shadows or not.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 04 Jun 2016, 15:21
by oln
You have to turn on shadows when creating the scene I think.
I've played around with enabling the default shadows in ogre, but they seemed to either not work, or not look very good, so I didn't enable it.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 05 Jun 2016, 08:31
by hwoarangmy
I've tried with
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
mSceneMgr->setShadowTechnique(Ogre::SHADOWTYPE_STENCIL_ADDITIVE);
and it seems to work. IMHO, it doesn't look that bad. However, the tiles are not displayed when I activate shadows. And I don't need to call
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
ent->setCastShadows(true);


Concerning @paul424, I've tried with many creatures and seen that it works on all the creatures I exported (Monk, Rat, LavaSpawn, NatureMonster) and not on the others. I don't know why, though.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 05 Jun 2016, 15:43
by paul424
Seems the solution is to re-export every model from blender format , including the tile set .
EDIT: Ehem , who should do I then , could you describe your method hw. ?
EDIT2: After all those changes to SVN and such , where are the orginal blender models stored ?

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 14 Jun 2016, 18:59
by hwoarangmy
paul424 {l Wrote}:EDIT: Ehem , who should do I then , could you describe your method hw. ?
You can have a look at the wiki:
https://github.com/OpenDungeons/OpenDun ... n-the-game

Note that the tools I'm talking about in the wiki are only compiled for windows. If you want to do the same for linux, it would be great (compile ogre tools against ogre 1.9). From what I've seen, only outdated binaries are available on the net.


paul424 {l Wrote}:EDIT2: After all those changes to SVN and such , where are the orginal blender models stored ?
That's more a question for Danimal but I guess the most up to date models are on OpenGameArt. If you want the url, the best is probably to look at the credits file.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 14 Jun 2016, 21:03
by paul424
For example for that rat , Did you only played with meshMagick or did you exported that from the bare beginning that is from the blender program ?

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 14 Jun 2016, 21:49
by hwoarangmy
From blender, all the animations were already in the model. I just created the NLA tracks, exported and sized with meshmagick.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 14 Jun 2016, 22:04
by Danimal
Everything is properly credited, all new models were uploaded to OGA, if i hand a on it its probably here:

http://opengameart.org/users/danimal

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2016, 14:35
by paul424
How about other works ? How about Scorpio's work ? The credits file don't even mention link to some models .... Looks like you removed the blender repository when we need it the most.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2016, 14:52
by hwoarangmy
No, the old media repository was moved to github.
https://github.com/OpenDungeons/OpenDun ... dia-source

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2016, 15:42
by Danimal
ill update it along the day, i have MANY things to upload to it; also, its totally neccesary to re-export everything for shdows to works? it looks overkill to me

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 15 Jun 2016, 16:20
by Akien
It's not that hard to find when you know where the source code is hosted: https://github.com/OpenDungeons ...

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 16 Jun 2016, 12:28
by Danimal
Github doesnt like big uploads, i guess ill have to upload it bit by bit. ill try today again.

Re: Shadows in OD

PostPosted: 16 Jun 2016, 21:52
by paul424
Ehem don't count on my when it comes to blender exporting ; I have big problems :
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85979&p=526417#p526417
EDIT : altough I exported the dragon model with blender it still does not give a shadow. Maybe the trick is to use the MeshMagick , which I don;t own ....