Shadows in OD

Shadows in OD

Postby paul424 » 03 Jun 2016, 18:47

ODscreenshot_2016-06-03_194055_1.png

Hello, I tried a few snippets from here : http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-index.php?page=Basic+Tutorial+2&structure=Tutorials#Using_Shadows_in_Ogre , but nothing casts the shadows except rat ? What it is ? In previous iterations I had no problems turning the shadows that way .
I do in void RenderManager::rrCreateRenderedMovableEntity(RenderedMovableEntity* renderedMovableEntity)




{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
    if(ent != nullptr)
        ent->setCastShadows(true);


Do we want a shadowed version of OD or not ? I think the shadowed version looks much nicer.
BTW : what';s so special in that rat ?


EDIT : I of course enable it when the sceneManager is created :
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
mSceneMgr->setAmbientLight(Ogre::ColourValue(0, 0, 0));
mSceneMgr->setShadowTechnique(Ogre::SHADOWTYPE_STENCIL_ADDITIVE);
User avatar
paul424
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 13:54

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby charlie » 04 Jun 2016, 00:20

paul424 {l Wrote}:Do we want a shadowed version of OD or not ? I think the shadowed version looks much nicer.

Of course; shadows make games look very atmospheric. Just as long as it is an option because not everybody has PCs that can handle them.
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2131
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby Loobinex » 04 Jun 2016, 00:51

In that case it should be a game wide setting in the settings/video menu to show shadows or not.
Loobinex
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 30 Mar 2016, 22:29

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby oln » 04 Jun 2016, 15:21

You have to turn on shadows when creating the scene I think.
I've played around with enabling the default shadows in ogre, but they seemed to either not work, or not look very good, so I didn't enable it.
User avatar
oln
 
Posts: 1020
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 22:16
Location: Norway

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby hwoarangmy » 05 Jun 2016, 08:31

I've tried with
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
mSceneMgr->setShadowTechnique(Ogre::SHADOWTYPE_STENCIL_ADDITIVE);
and it seems to work. IMHO, it doesn't look that bad. However, the tiles are not displayed when I activate shadows. And I don't need to call
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
ent->setCastShadows(true);


Concerning @paul424, I've tried with many creatures and seen that it works on all the creatures I exported (Monk, Rat, LavaSpawn, NatureMonster) and not on the others. I don't know why, though.
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 567
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby paul424 » 05 Jun 2016, 15:43

Seems the solution is to re-export every model from blender format , including the tile set .
EDIT: Ehem , who should do I then , could you describe your method hw. ?
EDIT2: After all those changes to SVN and such , where are the orginal blender models stored ?
User avatar
paul424
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 13:54

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby hwoarangmy » 14 Jun 2016, 18:59

paul424 {l Wrote}:EDIT: Ehem , who should do I then , could you describe your method hw. ?
You can have a look at the wiki:
https://github.com/OpenDungeons/OpenDun ... n-the-game

Note that the tools I'm talking about in the wiki are only compiled for windows. If you want to do the same for linux, it would be great (compile ogre tools against ogre 1.9). From what I've seen, only outdated binaries are available on the net.


paul424 {l Wrote}:EDIT2: After all those changes to SVN and such , where are the orginal blender models stored ?
That's more a question for Danimal but I guess the most up to date models are on OpenGameArt. If you want the url, the best is probably to look at the credits file.
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 567
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby paul424 » 14 Jun 2016, 21:03

For example for that rat , Did you only played with meshMagick or did you exported that from the bare beginning that is from the blender program ?
User avatar
paul424
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 13:54

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby hwoarangmy » 14 Jun 2016, 21:49

From blender, all the animations were already in the model. I just created the NLA tracks, exported and sized with meshmagick.
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 567
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby Danimal » 14 Jun 2016, 22:04

Everything is properly credited, all new models were uploaded to OGA, if i hand a on it its probably here:

http://opengameart.org/users/danimal
User avatar
Danimal
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 23 Nov 2010, 13:50

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby paul424 » 15 Jun 2016, 14:35

How about other works ? How about Scorpio's work ? The credits file don't even mention link to some models .... Looks like you removed the blender repository when we need it the most.
User avatar
paul424
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 13:54

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby hwoarangmy » 15 Jun 2016, 14:52

No, the old media repository was moved to github.
https://github.com/OpenDungeons/OpenDun ... dia-source
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 567
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby Danimal » 15 Jun 2016, 15:42

ill update it along the day, i have MANY things to upload to it; also, its totally neccesary to re-export everything for shdows to works? it looks overkill to me
User avatar
Danimal
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 23 Nov 2010, 13:50

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby Akien » 15 Jun 2016, 16:20

It's not that hard to find when you know where the source code is hosted: https://github.com/OpenDungeons ...
Godot Engine project manager and maintainer.
Occasional FOSS gamedev: Lugaru, OpenDungeons, Jetpaca, Minilens.
User avatar
Akien
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 22 Feb 2014, 13:14

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby Danimal » 16 Jun 2016, 12:28

Github doesnt like big uploads, i guess ill have to upload it bit by bit. ill try today again.
User avatar
Danimal
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 23 Nov 2010, 13:50

Re: Shadows in OD

Postby paul424 » 16 Jun 2016, 21:52

Ehem don't count on my when it comes to blender exporting ; I have big problems :
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85979&p=526417#p526417
EDIT : altough I exported the dragon model with blender it still does not give a shadow. Maybe the trick is to use the MeshMagick , which I don;t own ....
User avatar
paul424
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 13:54

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest