OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby BioHazardX » 07 Jan 2015, 13:40

So, 0.4.9 is finally done! I'll test it asap.
SURVIVAL STRATEGY!
User avatar
BioHazardX
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 07 Jan 2012, 12:03
Location: from the 90's

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby hwoarangmy » 07 Jan 2015, 17:02

Please don't hesitate to give some feedback :)
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby BioHazardX » 13 Jan 2015, 17:13

Test it! It's a nice game, needs improvements and more content, but nice for a beta. But I don't know how to make money for the buildings. My gold is always setted to zero (and so I suggest a warning message like "You have no gold" that appears in your screen when you haven't much gold to build a room.), someone explains me how to do, please, there are some gold chests on my claimed tiles but I'm not able to pick up with the cursor.......
I also found a mistake in the quick help menu, where is written that you have to press the keys "A" and "E" to rotate the camera. The correct keys are "Q" and "E".

A few things that I don't like:
- dungeon heart: don't hate me if I tell you, but it's really a bad greyish model.
- the red tile used for the bedroom. I suggest a "parquet" tile ( e.g. http://www.wdonna.it/wp-content/uploads ... arquet.jpg )
- water tiles: I can't see any water. Where is it?
- you should also fix the......I don't know how to explain it well......the "collisions between the units" issue . Their bodies are not solid, so units pass through each other like ghosts. You can see more than 10 units stopped in only one tile!

As the last thing, I want to see more skirmish maps with an updated GUI in the next release^^

That's all, in 1 hour and 30 of testing.
SURVIVAL STRATEGY!
User avatar
BioHazardX
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 07 Jan 2012, 12:03
Location: from the 90's

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby eugeneloza » 13 Jan 2015, 19:42

Yep, its sometimes not easy to understand that to grab gold/unit you must click exactly on the unit, but to select a tile you must click above the tile (where the 'ceiling' is). And that one MUST create a (free) treasury to store his first set of gold to go on.
User avatar
eugeneloza
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Aug 2014, 12:15
Location: Ukraine

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Akien » 13 Jan 2015, 21:08

Ok, about the first free treasury tiles, we already had enough feedback to know that most players are puzzled by the concept. I don't know if we need to come up with a better system (or to make sure all maps have at least one treasury tile at the beginning), but in the meantime I'll open an issue so that we implement a chat message when gold is mined and can't be added to a treasury.

Done: https://github.com/OpenDungeons/OpenDungeons/issues/435
User avatar
Akien
 
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Feb 2014, 13:14

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby hwoarangmy » 13 Jan 2015, 23:03

Thanksfor the feedback.

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:But I don't know how to make money for the buildings. My gold is always setted to zero
Yes, the first treasury tile is free to allow players to be able to collect gold. But as it has been said, it is not very clear so we should find a way to make it more understandable.

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:I also found a mistake in the quick help menu, where is written that you have to press the keys "A" and "E" to rotate the camera. The correct keys are "Q" and "E".
I guess your keyboard is qwerty ;)

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:- dungeon heart: don't hate me if I tell you, but it's really a bad greyish model.
A new model is one its way.

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:- you should also fix the......I don't know how to explain it well......the "collisions between the units" issue . Their bodies are not solid, so units pass through each other like ghosts. You can see more than 10 units stopped in only one tile!
Yes, its pretty weird. But not that easy to change and to avoid creatures being stuck in a corridor because they want to collide...

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:As the last thing, I want to see more skirmish maps with an updated GUI in the next release^^
There will be the fog of war that will change a bit the game play. Concerning maps, we will try to make a few. But if you have an idea and want to give a try, we will happily help you to know how to do that.
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Danimal » 13 Jan 2015, 23:03

Graphics are my never ending quest ;) ; on time most of the models will be updated to better looking ones
User avatar
Danimal
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: 23 Nov 2010, 13:50

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Bertram » 14 Jan 2015, 12:07

Hey :)

hwoarangmy {l Wrote}:Yes, its pretty weird. But not that easy to change and to avoid creatures being stuck in a corridor because they want to collide...

Even in starcraft II, they had to make a compromise about this. We may want to make the unit slightly offset when being on the same tile.
But as I've already been working on that kind of stuff for months in the mana project, just let me say it's not easy at all to make it "right".
For the record, here are a few things that seemed to work:
- Simply use a random offset on the same tile to make creature not look exactly at the same location already helps a lot.
- From all the tests done, and depending on the architecture, only the client will need that offset and related mesh collision handling,
and if a computation can be made client side, it should.
- One thing that also seemed to improve the behaviour is that you can make a tile unavailable when there are more than, say, 2 creatures on it already,
but as a destination tile only. I mean only as the last tile in the pathfinding tile list. If a creature just gets by on its way to somewhere else, it shouldn't block it,
or you will have bad surprises.
- As the game is also all about 1-tile wide corridors, we shouldn't add support for creatures that can occupy several tiles at a time. At least not in a first row.
Such principle involves keeping an unavailable tiles grid (as described above) AFAIK, and makes pathfinding complex for no actual need, usually.
I do hope we'll never have to add this, in fact.

BioHazardX {l Wrote}:I also found a mistake in the quick help menu, where is written that you have to press the keys "A" and "E" to rotate the camera. The correct keys are "Q" and "E".

The key described works for a US keyboard key mapping. I know that on windows, the key mapping described in the help windows will be followed, but on linux, it doesn't. I mean that on linux I can play using the same keys locations that if I had an US keyboard.
That may be a bit disorienting but that's the way OIS (Input system of Ogre) is working. I'm on creating an options menu atm and hopefully soon, we'll be able to remap the main keys. but I can't promise anything yet, sorry.

Best regards,
User avatar
Bertram
VT Moderator
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: 09 Nov 2012, 12:26

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby hwoarangmy » 14 Jan 2015, 12:36

Bertram {l Wrote}:Even in starcraft II, they had to make a compromise about this
Yes and its pretty annoying when you send melee units to see them queue before attacking. In a RTS, it can be seen as a way to encourage micro management but in a game like OD, I'm not sure we should do that (not talking about the huge quantity of work needed).

Bertram {l Wrote}:We may want to make the unit slightly offset when being on the same tile.
Yes, that could be a simple way to have something that looks good. IMHO, the most weird is when you have similar creatures attacking together (for example the dragons in the 2v2 skirmish small test map in the seat 3 player). Because they attack creatures first, the always end up in the same tile after a while. From there, they do exactly the same (because they attack closest foe) so you cannot event know how many of them are there.

Bertram {l Wrote}:- Simply use a random offset on the same tile to make creature not look exactly at the same location already helps a lot.
- From all the tests done, and depending on the architecture, only the client will need that offset and related mesh collision handling,
and if a computation can be made client side, it should.
On client side, creature really have no way of knowing what they are doing (they are just moving and changing animations). Moreover, using such offsets might result in creatures going a little bit through walls (but we can accept that). In any case, on server side, we can differentiate when we want an exact destination (for training room for example) and when we want a random offset (for fighting position for example) and see how it turns. Then, the offset can be set on client or server side.

Bertram {l Wrote}:- One thing that also seemed to improve the behaviour is that you can make a tile unavailable when there are more than, say, 2 creatures on it already,
but as a destination tile only. I mean only as the last tile in the pathfinding tile list. If a creature just gets by on its way to somewhere else, it shouldn't block it,
or you will have bad surprises.
That's complex and may not be relevant if 2 creatures are on the same tile (but most likely moving) to not allow another one to get there (the time it comes, the 2 other creatures may be gone for a while). Concerning the pathfinding problem, I agree it won't be something easy to do.

Bertram {l Wrote}:- As the game is also all about 1-tile wide corridors, we shouldn't add support for creatures that can occupy several tiles at a time. At least not in a first row.
Such principle involves keeping an unavailable tiles grid (as described above) AFAIK, and makes pathfinding complex for no actual need, usually.
I do hope we'll never have to add this, in fact.
I agree :)
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Akien » 14 Jan 2015, 13:18

Bertram {l Wrote}:
BioHazardX {l Wrote}:I also found a mistake in the quick help menu, where is written that you have to press the keys "A" and "E" to rotate the camera. The correct keys are "Q" and "E".

The key described works for a US keyboard key mapping. I know that on windows, the key mapping described in the help windows will be followed, but on linux, it doesn't. I mean that on linux I can play using the same keys locations that if I had an US keyboard.
That may be a bit disorienting but that's the way OIS (Input system of Ogre) is working. I'm on creating an options menu atm and hopefully soon, we'll be able to remap the main keys. but I can't promise anything yet, sorry.

I think there is a misunderstanding here.
The help menu says that the keys are:
- WASD to move the map around
- A and E to rotate.
On an American keyboard (QwErty), Q and E are the two keys left and right of the WASD keys. I'm not sure about what you explain as differences between Windows and Linux, but here on Linux with an azerty keyboard, it is indeed the Q and E keys that are used to rotate the map (i.e. it's not the best choice for me, but I'm used to using qwerty-based key configs on an azerty keyboard).

So here really, it's just a typo in the help menu, the keys to rotate are Q and E.
User avatar
Akien
 
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Feb 2014, 13:14

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby hwoarangmy » 14 Jan 2015, 14:32

Akien {l Wrote}:I'm not sure about what you explain as differences between Windows and Linux, but here on Linux with an azerty keyboard, it is indeed the Q and E keys that are used to rotate the map (i.e. it's not the best choice for me, but I'm used to using qwerty-based key configs on an azerty keyboard).

So here really, it's just a typo in the help menu, the keys to rotate are Q and E.
Because on windows (as you know, what I use), it is indeed A and E with an AZERTY keyboard. So, it seems there is a difference between Linux and Windows.
hwoarangmy
 
Posts: 565
Joined: 16 Apr 2014, 19:13

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Akien » 14 Jan 2015, 15:54

hwoarangmy {l Wrote}:
Akien {l Wrote}:I'm not sure about what you explain as differences between Windows and Linux, but here on Linux with an azerty keyboard, it is indeed the Q and E keys that are used to rotate the map (i.e. it's not the best choice for me, but I'm used to using qwerty-based key configs on an azerty keyboard).

So here really, it's just a typo in the help menu, the keys to rotate are Q and E.
Because on windows (as you know, what I use), it is indeed A and E with an AZERTY keyboard. So, it seems there is a difference between Linux and Windows.

Ah ok. But if the value written in the help menu is hardcoded, it should nevertheless be "Q and E", since it's only "A and E" on azerty keyboards on Windows, so I guess we should use qwerty as a reference.
Just like you are most likely using ZQSD to move the map on Windows, but it's still written WASD in the help menu, since it's more generic.
User avatar
Akien
 
Posts: 734
Joined: 22 Feb 2014, 13:14

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Bertram » 14 Jan 2015, 16:05

Akien {l Wrote}:So here really, it's just a typo in the help menu, the keys to rotate are Q and E.

Ah, yes, it was a misunderstanding on my own. Thanks for fixing it.

hwoarangmy {l Wrote}:Because on windows (as you know, what I use), it is indeed A and E with an AZERTY keyboard. So, it seems there is a difference between Linux and Windows.

There is indeed a difference, but as I wrote from memory, I do hope I didn't mix up things, eh.
User avatar
Bertram
VT Moderator
 
Posts: 1635
Joined: 09 Nov 2012, 12:26

Re: OpenDungeons 0.4.9 milestone reached!

Postby Danimal » 15 Jan 2015, 15:32

I agree with the ramdon offset, also i noticed that creatures only attack on a cross patern, so if the target runs away, instead of perfoming a diagonal attack over it they try to go to a tile that is directly next to them before attacking
User avatar
Danimal
OD Moderator
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: 23 Nov 2010, 13:50

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest