Typical dev environment under windows

Typical dev environment under windows

Postby hwoarangmy » 16 Apr 2014, 19:32

Hello,

I am a coder and I am interested in your project. I have no experience with Ogre but it is the occasion to see the beast :)
Can someone tell me what's the most used IDE and stuff to develop OD ?
I am currently using Code::Blocks but it seems like there is no Ogre SDK 1.9 easy to download. And first of all, I would like to get a running environment to have a look into the OD code.

Thanks
hwoarangmy

Re: Typical dev environment under windows

Postby Danimal » 16 Apr 2014, 20:30

Welcome to this forum Hwoarangmy, the code guys will talk to you soon.
Danimal
OD Moderator

Postby Bertram » 17 Apr 2014, 10:28

Hi hwoarangmy, :)

As Danimal said, here am I. ;)

With Elvano, we're both slowing but surely putting the documentation up to date, and I really need to set up a how to compile on windows forum thread until he's finished with the backup system.

That said, for what is actually interesting you, the typical working environment on windows is currently involving you to work with MSVC 2012 (compiler version 11).
Older MSVC versions won't work, since the necessary C++1x features weren't implemented, IIRC

In a nutshell, what you need to do is:
- Install MSVC 2012 Express (And I guess, make a Windows live account to register your copy, sorry for that, but it's needed.)

- Install CMake + CMake-gui: http://www.cmake.org/cmake/resources/software.html

- Download The Ogre 1.9.x source along with the MSVC 2012 deps:
http://www.ogre3d.org/download/source
http://www.ogre3d.org/download/sdk

- Download the DirectX SDK (useless for us, but prevents compilation errors when configuring/building CEGUI): http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... px?id=6812
(Important, download Ogre and DirectX along with CEGUI SDKs before starting compiling)

- Download the latest CEGUI 0.8.x source + the dependencies build: http://cegui.org.uk/download