Got a month to waste, so..... PLATFORMER!

Got a month to waste, so..... PLATFORMER!

Postby bokononist » 08 Dec 2015, 21:01

So, since i have a bit of time and feel like coding I'd like to start work on something that's been running through my mind. I'm a big fan of story-driven games so i thought up something i'll probably never finish. Not gonna go into details yet, i have a tendency to get carried off on tangents so my ideas always get too big too fast... here's the basic idea tho:

I want to start building a story-driven platformer, the main focus being dialogue with npcs, not combat. The visual style i'm aiming for is something like this (I love this game) or this (love that one too) -- pixel art, scifi/noir setting. Starting off i'd like to spend as little time on graphics as possible and work more on the other aspects (building quests and dialogue). I have an idea for a combat system as well, but that's not high priority either. I'm already coding a prototype in python using pygame, but honestly i'm not really sure if that's a good idea... I'll ask some questions further down the post, i'm playing with the idea of switching to C or C++ (would prefer C for some reason. don't ask me why).