C 3d game engine

C 3d game engine

Postby JontomXire » 21 Feb 2015, 14:45

Hi, all.

I recently played around with SDL/OpenGL and I can see it has a lot of potential. However I can see there is a place where you want a library that will take an object model definition in a separate file and just display it, rather than writing a ton of code to do that specific model. I know there are a lot of (sometimes free/opensource) 3d graphics/games engines/libraries out there, but they all seem to be C++ and frankly I feel a bit too old to relearn C++. It seems to have changed a lot since I last used it about 15 years ago, and I'm not sure I think it is an improvement.

I'm a hardcore C programmer, and SDL and OpenGL are both written in C. Are there any good C libraries out there (preferably free/open source) that will let me just import 3d models in a convenient format, and some sort of game map, and let me move the models around the map?

In fact are there any C engines/libraries at all, whether free or not or good or not? Or am i going to have to write my own. From scratch. While distracted by 3 screaming kids?

Also, I had a play with the object modelling software used to make SuperTuxKart and I couldn't do anything with it. I have used 3D Studio Max in the past and found it a little complicated, but still managed to model various simple shapes and even use it to model a custom built in wardrobe I had a carpenter make for me. So although I'm no expert, I don't feel I qualify as a total noob at 3D modelling either. But this other software (I forget what it was called - Blender or something?) I found totally unusable and couldn't achieve anything with it at all.

Can anyone offer me a heads up on some free 3D modelling software with a nice simple to load file format? Or offer to do 3D models for me :)

Thanks.
JontomXire

Re: C 3d game engine

Postby NaN » 21 Feb 2015, 15:30

I am sure there are a few C engines out there, like https://github.com/ioquake/ioq3