How is unit testing fun?

How is unit testing fun?

Postby Jastiv » 02 Sep 2012, 21:26

I tried today to do some unit testing with c code using the check frame work. I could not get it to work. Honestly, I don't see why people who are doing programming for fun, and for free decide to do something so unfun like unit testing. Also people go on and on about how important it is, but as a developer, I don't really find the check framework or explanation to be much fun.

The irony is I've known some professional programmers who never had to do any unit testing at work, yet why do people do unit testing when they come home when it doesn't seem to be a great joy. Can some one explain the unit test fun, particularly the make check framework for c unit tests?
Jastiv

Re: How is unit testing fun?

Postby sireus » 02 Sep 2012, 22:59

Unit testing is overrated. It's useful for many libraries, APIs and stuff like that, which actually provide a "modular" functionality, but for many other things (e.g. a game), unit tests are probably a waste of time. IMHO.
And fun? Yeah, about as much fun as writing documentation ;P
sireus

Postby charlie » 03 Sep 2012, 00:00

It's not a waste of time, but you have to be smart about what you write unit tests for.

Unit testing is a great way of testing out a plethora of features without having to manually load up a program and go through each feature to check it. Done the right way, it saves you a large amount of both development time (reduced manual checking) and debugging time (catch issues early whilst you're working on the code that affected it).

How to decide what to unit test? Well a popular way is, when you implement a significant new feature, create a test that shows that feature working (programmatically ofc). Or when you find something broken, create a test so that it does not re-break in the future. Should you write a unit test for every object/function you define? Probably not.
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
charlie