where to start

where to start

Postby mixpro » 29 Aug 2011, 01:09

hi, this might take some time ...

the goal is a game developer , the problem is where to start .

here's the story :
i've been looking around on how to get start with developing games specifically for mobiles , i started reading opengl and animating + modeling with blender , but the problem is i don't know how to connect everything together , i mean :

1) animations with blender how to insert them with opengl in the code ? like characters running around .....

2) plus how the ai for the game works ? for instance if i'm developing a strategy games how can i build for example my own base and at the same time the computer is building his own , is it using threads ?

3)what exactly do i need to develop my own game engine , and what exactly is a game engine cause blender has one and i don't know how to use it in my code for writing the game .

please i'm a beginner , so if you could explain to me how everything works and if you could suggest books video tutorials ....

thnx a lot .

by the way i know c,c++,object oriented programing,some java + socket prog... ,
mixpro

Re: where to start

Postby charlie » 29 Aug 2011, 03:14

If you're happy to start with desktop game development and you know C/C++ then I'd suggest investigating Irrlicht or Ogre. These are good graphics engines that do the 'connecting' for you and reduce the amount of detail you have to dig in to with OpenGL. You'll be able to export models out of Blender in a format that the engines will like, and then just load them and indicate what animations to perform and the engines will do the leg work for you.

I'm not sure of a suitable mobile engine in C/C++.

If you are wishing to use Java (which may be more suitable for mobile dev) then you can look at Ardor3D which has Android support.
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
charlie
Global Moderator

Postby farcodev » 29 Aug 2011, 04:06