New Track: City lights

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 16 Oct 2012, 18:02

Bollen {l Wrote}:How about some bebop? Or free jazz?

Well, I will take everything that fits the track :). Imagine that it is 3 in the morning, nobody is on the street ... I think something calm and a bit creepy would be good (it should, on the other hand, still fit to a racing game, of course :)). Judging from my very limited musical knowledge, achieving this with some sort of jazz would be quite hard. If I had to choose from STK's default music, I think that Chill Carrier's "Druckverlust" and Kämmerer's "Under Water" would fit best, but they are not exactly what I am looking for. But don't feel bound to all this :).
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby RaceAce » 16 Oct 2012, 22:25

Can you post the latest version? I want to try it.
Bananas are yummy
User avatar
RaceAce
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 23 Jun 2012, 12:21
Location: The North Pole (give or take 2700 miles)

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Barsook » 16 Oct 2012, 22:40

Hero {l Wrote}:"City At Night". It sounds nice.


Or Night-Time City or The Night City
User avatar
Barsook
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 00:30
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Hero » 16 Oct 2012, 23:14

Night Of The Karts... but that's more of something you would want for a battle.
Keep your mouth closed while chewing your food! That's ALL I hear.

For more game forums go to opengameforums.zxq.net and register today!
User avatar
Hero
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 13 Oct 2012, 21:27
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby charlie » 17 Oct 2012, 01:10

City Lights
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Hero » 17 Oct 2012, 01:32

CITY LIGHTS! Excellent idea!
Keep your mouth closed while chewing your food! That's ALL I hear.

For more game forums go to opengameforums.zxq.net and register today!
User avatar
Hero
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 13 Oct 2012, 21:27
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Barsook » 17 Oct 2012, 22:23

Hero {l Wrote}:CITY LIGHTS! Excellent idea!


+1 I was thinking of that name too
User avatar
Barsook
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 00:30
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby charlie » 18 Oct 2012, 14:34

I don't like the skybox used. Due to the nature of the skybox, it makes the skyscrapers that are part of it look out of sync and out of scale with the actual 3D skyscrapers. They either need to be massively reduced in size (so they appear as distant objects only when looking down streets without an obscured view) or removing altogether.

Ascii art:

{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
      ________________
     |             2D |
     |                | massive out of scale sky box towers
     |                |          __
     |    ___         |       __|  | really skybox towers
 _____   |3D |        |      |  |  | should be small, distant, like this
|  3D |  |   |        |
|     |  ___________
|     | /     _______road
|     |/    /
      in scale 3D towers

Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby samuncle » 19 Oct 2012, 01:18

Usually for this landscape effect you can put small building (typically in 1/16) to avoid the "skybox effect" far away from the player area.

You have a nice example here
Image

and inside the world (the area where the player can go)
Image

For more screen go here
Image
User avatar
samuncle
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 21:28

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 21 Oct 2012, 16:17

RaceAce {l Wrote}:Can you post the latest version? I want to try it.

I am sorry, if you are playing the latest version posted in this topic, you are already playing the latest version ;). Since then I have mostly only played a bit with the look of the road barriers (I currently have not much free time).

charlie {l Wrote}:City Lights

I like it, too :)

charlie {l Wrote}:I don't like the skybox used. Due to the nature of the skybox, it makes the skyscrapers that are part of it look out of sync and out of scale with the actual 3D skyscrapers. They either need to be massively reduced in size (so they appear as distant objects only when looking down streets without an obscured view) or removing altogether.

You are right there, sooner or later I will have to change the skybox. Actually, the current one is not even a real skybox, it is just a picture that does not even tile properly, but I think it fits the track :).

samuncle {l Wrote}:Usually for this landscape effect you can put small building (typically in 1/16) to avoid the "skybox effect" far away from the player area.

Does this mean that the skybox only contains the sky and the buildings are cubes? I think this could work, but since we are in the middle of a big city I have the impression that this means lots of triangles and work :).

BTW, does somebody know where I can find some really high-res textures of skyscrapers at night that could be used for the buildings next to the road? Wikimedia contains lots of cool stuff, but none of the pictures I looked at had enough detail.
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Ludsky » 25 Oct 2012, 13:01

It's Advance ?
User avatar
Ludsky
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 07 Aug 2011, 12:52
Location: France

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 26 Oct 2012, 09:51

Ludsky {l Wrote}:It's Advance ?

No, not at all, I'm sorry :(. I am very, very busy atm.
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Ludsky » 26 Oct 2012, 10:37

Wolfs {l Wrote}:
Ludsky {l Wrote}:It's Advance ?

No, not at all, I'm sorry :(. I am very, very busy atm.

ok, you need help ?
your track is very wonderful, it could be in the 0.8 :) as Tuxtollway disappears :(
User avatar
Ludsky
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 07 Aug 2011, 12:52
Location: France

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 27 Oct 2012, 17:07

Thank you for your offer :). I am in need of realistic looking textures of buildings (at night) that can be used for buildings next to the road (so they should be high-res). I know that STK is a cartoonish game and does not aim to be realistic, but I am curious how a real-looking track would be like. A better skybox (perhaps only an illuminated night sky?) would be good, too.

But beware, I have little free time for the next few months and might not be able to answer or help you in any way :(.
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Ludsky » 27 Oct 2012, 17:42

Wolfs {l Wrote}:Thank you for your offer :). I am in need of realistic looking textures of buildings (at night) that can be used for buildings next to the road (so they should be high-res). I know that STK is a cartoonish game and does not aim to be realistic, but I am curious how a real-looking track would be like. A better skybox (perhaps only an illuminated night sky?) would be good, too.

But beware, I have little free time for the next few months and might not be able to answer or help you in any way :(.


you already do a wonderful job and this track will be as beautiful as "Green Valley" ^^
User avatar
Ludsky
 
Posts: 682
Joined: 07 Aug 2011, 12:52
Location: France

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 30 Nov 2012, 23:49

Another update of the track: I have added lightmaps, worked on the terrain and added a small second way. The lightmap is in the following post and has to be moved in to the folder that contains the rest of the track. Please give feedback! (and please increase the upload limit ;))
Attachments
city-lights-part1.tar.bz2
(11.9 MiB) Downloaded 142 times
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 30 Nov 2012, 23:53

... and the lightmap
Attachments
lightmap-ground-devel.png
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Hero » 30 Nov 2012, 23:55

Complain to FreeGameDev! And I support you. A limit of 50 mb would be good.
Keep your mouth closed while chewing your food! That's ALL I hear.

For more game forums go to opengameforums.zxq.net and register today!
User avatar
Hero
 
Posts: 614
Joined: 13 Oct 2012, 21:27
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 01 Dec 2012, 00:30

... appending the blender file ...
Attachments
city_night.blend
(12.44 MiB) Downloaded 113 times
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby charlie » 01 Dec 2012, 03:41

The forum is not the place to be uploading large files. Get a box.net or dropbox or whatever account or use one of the many free file sharing sites.
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2108
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 01 Dec 2012, 10:20

charlie {l Wrote}:The forum is not the place to be uploading large files. Get a box.net or dropbox or whatever account or use one of the many free file sharing sites.

I see. I originally wanted to upload it to STKAddons, but it gave me an error.
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby hiker » 01 Dec 2012, 13:19

Wolfs {l Wrote}:
charlie {l Wrote}:The forum is not the place to be uploading large files. Get a box.net or dropbox or whatever account or use one of the many free file sharing sites.

I see. I originally wanted to upload it to STKAddons, but it gave me an error.

Can you give us details? There shouldn't be any problems.

Cheers,
Joerg
hiker
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:15
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 01 Dec 2012, 14:47

hiker {l Wrote}:Can you give us details? There shouldn't be any problems.

After uploading the addon the website always says:
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, modo@staff.tuxfamily.org and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.
Apache Server at stkaddons.net Port 80
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby sj04736 » 01 Dec 2012, 23:23

It looks like Tuxfamily changed the installed version of the archive library again. Try submitting your file as a tar.gz rather than a tar.bz2. There were bugs in the old archive library for bz2 so I asked them to upgrade it last year. It must have gotten reverted in a backup image or something. For now, I'll remove the note that bz2 archives work.
Stephen
Role: STK-Addons Developer

Image
User avatar
sj04736
 
Posts: 146
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 02:56
Location: Western Canada

Re: New Track: [Track in a city at night that is still unnam

Postby Wolfs » 01 Dec 2012, 23:55

sj04736 {l Wrote}:It looks like Tuxfamily changed the installed version of the archive library again. Try submitting your file as a tar.gz rather than a tar.bz2. There were bugs in the old archive library for bz2 so I asked them to upgrade it last year. It must have gotten reverted in a backup image or something. For now, I'll remove the note that bz2 archives work.

I'm sorry, submitting as tar.gz gives me the same error :(.
User avatar
Wolfs
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 09:56

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest