WAN Servers...

WAN Servers...

Postby tux_peng » 20 Nov 2018, 17:35

I have a CENTOS 7 VPS in the LA area that I just compiled the network branch of STK on.

Should I use my same account on it?
Is the list server automatic or do I need to send in my server config?
Domain name or IP displayed?
User avatar
tux_peng
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Jun 2014, 19:59

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby tux_peng » 20 Nov 2018, 23:34

I needed to create a second account for the server

I can see and connect to it in game, but there are 2 issues I have

* I can't figure out the command to test with AI
* The server is in LA, with a node in NY; even though I am in N CA, it shows the distance to NY. https://iplocation.io/ip/107.174.131.170 Maybe show ping instead of distance
Last edited by tux_peng on 22 Nov 2018, 20:18, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tux_peng
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Jun 2014, 19:59

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby benau » 21 Nov 2018, 20:16

Try again with a correct server-id with git pull in master / network branch

Though from my testing in HK your server seems to have a huge delay when i typing chat / pressing start button, but ping is usual 18xms

In ipaddresslocation.org it shows NY, and it's not possible to know server ping until you connect to server due to firewall / NAT issue
Image
benau
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 08 Dec 2015, 17:32

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby cddepppp256 » 21 Nov 2018, 22:24

I run my AI w/o --server-id (and maybe w/o --auto-connect) so maybe you can try that?
cddepppp256
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Oct 2018, 20:10

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby tux_peng » 21 Nov 2018, 22:55

Thanks, I'll try that when I get home

AFAIK, it's running off a traditional HDD, CentOS 7 64-bit with 2GB of RAM with a 1Gbps link


Even running cammands over SSH, like 'free -m' take forever; maybe I just need more RAM
Last edited by tux_peng on 21 Nov 2018, 23:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tux_peng
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Jun 2014, 19:59

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby cddepppp256 » 21 Nov 2018, 23:30

I have 2 gb of RAM too! I am on a debian based disto though. If you can you may also want to do it from your LAN or on localhost as you can't connect back to your own IP address from your own IP address.
cddepppp256
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Oct 2018, 20:10

Re: WAN Servers...

Postby tux_peng » 22 Nov 2018, 20:14

I asked for a refund and it got a lot more responsive, next billing cycle I'll probably still change host though. I still can't connect from the CLI to my server, I could connect to a Chicago server though
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
# ./speedtest-cli
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from ColoCrossing (107.174.131.170)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by ColoCrossing (Buffalo, NY) [0.04 km]: 83.404 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 167.02 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed................................................................................................
Upload: 111.53 Mbit/s


I played a split-screen game on my server, and it was decent
EDIT: Happen to be on while takumi_fujiwara was, no real bugs- a bit laggy though
User avatar
tux_peng
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 13 Jun 2014, 19:59

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest