Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » 16 Feb 2016, 01:41

Hi!

I'm new here and STK is the best opensource game I know!
I love it! :D
I use two screen with my PC.
I use arandr to set dual-screen, and run AMD drivers (because of my distro) with AMD Radeon HD 5450.
For now STK run without problem on screen one and just don't use the second.

I'm dreaming about an option set one screen for each player!
The first screen for player one, and the second for player two.

Then, a free software will do best than any commercial thing for multi-player game!
That will be very good!
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Auria » 18 Feb 2016, 01:04

This is a good idea, but this is not possible at this time in STK.
Also, you would need a very powerful GPU to render the game twice at full resolution, meaning very few people could actually use that in practice.
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2794
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » 18 Feb 2016, 10:49

Please, consider the very attractive potential (and maybe glory and fortune?).

I prefer play two screen in low resolution, bad details, no scenery and very hi fun, instead of the actual solution also for few people who have a very big screen.
(not usable for me) :cry:
Using xrandr, the implementation would not be so hard, no?

I insist, I insist!!!! :cool:
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby GunChleoc » 18 Feb 2016, 12:20

If you think it's not that hard, maybe you could have a go at implementing? FLOSS projects can always do with new developers :D
User avatar
GunChleoc
 
Posts: 260
Joined: 20 Sep 2012, 22:45

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » 18 Feb 2016, 14:15

Ok!
So, first, I have to became a developer! :lol:
- - loading, please wait - -
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby GunChleoc » 18 Feb 2016, 20:29

Well, I didn't know if you had any coding skills, and you did imply that it was easy :lol:

So, we will have to wait then until somebody else finds the time.
User avatar
GunChleoc
 
Posts: 260
Joined: 20 Sep 2012, 22:45

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby hiker » 19 Feb 2016, 10:56

Hi,

note that supporting multiple screens involved a bit more than just changing screen layout (i.e. two splitscreen windows next to each other): both screens need a minimap etc.

I've actually done some work on this, still sitting in the 0.8-multiscreen branch. Obviously quite outdated (and one issue is how multiple screen are made available from the OS, since irrlicht itself does not directly support this).

Cheers,
Joerg
Image
hiker
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:15
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby deve » 22 Feb 2016, 14:16

@Xzu you can easily configure two separate mices + two keyboards using xinput. And when LAN multiplayer in STK will be finished, you should be able to run two separate STK instances and connect to your localhost server (at least in theory :P ).

Create two separate windows on two different screens is easy. The problem is that we would need to handle two totally different local multiplayer styles and ideally for all platforms that we support (linux, windows, os x). I'm also not sure what about input handling. We usually get input events for active window. What if the second window will be the active one?
deve
 
Posts: 176
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 13:45

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » 29 Feb 2016, 12:54

The problem is that we would need to handle two totally different local multiplayer styles

Ok, but that's already done with multiplayer-mode, no?

and ideally for all platforms that we support (linux, windows, os x)

No, no.. just for linux, first! :lol: Hey, that's super-TUX-kart ! ;)
(even if I think multi-platform is very good thing)
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby hiker » 29 Feb 2016, 13:15

Just note that my branch assumes that the OS handles the two monitors as one screen - so it's basically 'normal' splits screen, just instead of splitting vertically (in current split screen), it splits the windows horizontally. Plus it starts to add the necessary race gui HUD (e.g. kart order, time, ...) - but that's not completely finished.

Cheers,
Joerg
Image
hiker
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:15
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » 10 Aug 2017, 11:04

Any news for this amazing futuristic feature?
Today, many people have dual screen, so this will be an exclusive amazing feature because even ps4 can't do this!
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Re: Mutliplayer Dual screen: one for each player?

Postby Xzu » Today, 14:59

If we consider windowed mode: what about just two windows for multiplayer mode?
Exactly like actual multi-player, but just in two windows instead of one.
Then we do what we want with our window manager, screen conf and OS.
Xzu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2016, 01:19

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest