SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Static Juice » 29 Sep 2010, 04:26

Okay, thanks for all the helpful info. :)
User avatar
Static Juice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Jan 2010, 04:24
Location: New Zealand

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby rudy85 » 29 Sep 2010, 21:38

I have to signal, there is a problem with display changing on ubuntu : It is crashing the game :(
STK 3D animation
My work is under the licence you want
User avatar
rudy85
 
Posts: 420
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 13:44
Location: France

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 30 Sep 2010, 00:21

rudy85 {l Wrote}:I have to signal, there is a problem with display changing on ubuntu : It is crashing the game :(


There are known issues with resolution changing on Linux, this has not been investigated yet but we will come to it before a release
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby ProtoSphere » 30 Sep 2010, 01:19

asciimonster {l Wrote}:I found some little flaws:
  • On the windows version in full-screen, the nitro bar too high. It is off the top of the screen

I get the same problem on Snow Leopard at a resolution of 2560x1440
User avatar
ProtoSphere
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 23 Dec 2009, 00:03

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 30 Sep 2010, 13:49

Vadersapien {l Wrote}:
asciimonster {l Wrote}:I found some little flaws:
  • On the windows version in full-screen, the nitro bar too high. It is off the top of the screen

I get the same problem on Snow Leopard at a resolution of 2560x1440


Thanks, I will open a bug ticket so we can fix this
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby ProtoSphere » 01 Oct 2010, 07:50

Forgot to mention the time is also cut off, and it ends up looking like this(for example):
00:22:
You can *just* see a slither of the 1st cut off number providing the seconds are not too wide.
User avatar
ProtoSphere
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 23 Dec 2009, 00:03

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby charlie » 25 Oct 2010, 17:30

xeno74 {l Wrote}:A video of STK 0.7: Start or Start2.

Have fun! :)

I love the music!!
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2133
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Crendgrim » 25 Oct 2010, 19:39

Good quality. Too large file size. It has taken half an hour for me to load the video... :x
And, after this, it only played the first few sequences (until a moment after the bridge of Hacienda)
But what I could see was really good. :)
I'm only worrying that you'll have to remake this video when the stable 0.7 is finished - I think there could be a few more changes..


Crend
Crendgrim
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 03 May 2011, 21:59

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby budovi » 01 Nov 2010, 12:59

Bug in Ubuntu 10.10:
Can't change game resolution or turn fullscreen off. Game just freeze and you have to restart computer.
Is there another way to change resolution? (except in "settings")

Fifth (I think) challenge can't be done. (It is in "class" truck and condition is to have set ammount of nitro, but in this truck there is no way to get it)

There is also bug in grand-prix but I don't remember... I think it was that after start some truck, it is finished immidiately and you race it again and again... (you can't continue)

Bug with 3-strikes battle mode - game always crashes after start.

Sorry for my english but I'm sure you can understand :)
budovi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 12:49

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 01 Nov 2010, 16:18

Hi,

budovi {l Wrote}:Bug in Ubuntu 10.10:
Can't change game resolution or turn fullscreen off. Game just freeze and you have to restart computer.
Is there another way to change resolution? (except in "settings")


Yes it was reported that switching fullscreen off on Linux can be problematic. Sadly if the entire computer freezes it's very hard to debug - ideally to fix this we would need to get a backtrace from a debugger to see where it crashes

You can change this from the config file (usually ~/.config/supertuxkart/comfig.xml)

budovi {l Wrote}:Fifth (I think) challenge can't be done. (It is in "class" truck and condition is to have set ammount of nitro, but in this truck there is no way to get it)


This is a known problem, challenges are not adapted and tracks are not all fully converted; this will be fixed before a final release

budovi {l Wrote}:There is also bug in grand-prix but I don't remember... I think it was that after start some truck, it is finished immidiately and you race it again and again... (you can't continue)


Here we would need more information; can you reproduce this?

budovi {l Wrote}:Bug with 3-strikes battle mode - game always crashes after start.


@Joerg: I remember you did some 3 strikes fixes; was 3 strikes broken as of alpha 3?
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Arthur » 01 Nov 2010, 16:37

Auria {l Wrote}:
budovi {l Wrote}:There is also bug in grand-prix but I don't remember... I think it was that after start some truck, it is finished immidiately and you race it again and again... (you can't continue)


Here we would need more information; can you reproduce this?

I think this is just the test GP hiker made where you race 4 times with 0 rounds in Lighthouse - not a bug, if that's the case. :)
Hey pal, I took an oath for justice! "In happy days or tightest tights..." or something like that.
User avatar
Arthur
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 00:49

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby ChemBroTron » 03 Nov 2010, 10:16

I didn't play alpha 3, but svn 6387 and I had a problem with a challenge that is called "energymathclass" in the configfile. In the new math class track, there is no nitro to pick up, so I cannot beat this challenge (unless I cheat).

Also is there a way to get my game to be in english? My desktop (Arch Linux/KDE) is in german, so is the game, but I want it in english. Is there a way to enable it in the game?
ChemBroTron
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 03 Nov 2010, 10:05

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 03 Nov 2010, 19:05

ChemBroTron {l Wrote}:I didn't play alpha 3, but svn 6387 and I had a problem with a challenge that is called "energymathclass" in the configfile. In the new math class track, there is no nitro to pick up, so I cannot beat this challenge (unless I cheat).

Also is there a way to get my game to be in english? My desktop (Arch Linux/KDE) is in german, so is the game, but I want it in english. Is there a way to enable it in the game?


Hi,

challenges are not usable yet (this is why it's still an alpha!)
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby ChemBroTron » 04 Nov 2010, 10:57

It was a little bug report (the one with the challenges), but I guess, because it's alpha, it's a little bit too early for that.

What about the language setting? Can I change it in the game or do I have to "convert" my whole system?
ChemBroTron
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 03 Nov 2010, 10:05

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 04 Nov 2010, 14:52

You can change language by changing environment variables before running STK (running from terminal)

export LANGUAGE=fr (for instance)
supertuxkart
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby ChemBroTron » 04 Nov 2010, 19:06

Thanks, that works. And I hope, SuperTuxKart will be stable "soon". 0.7 is so much better than 0.6.
ChemBroTron
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 03 Nov 2010, 10:05

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby rudy85 » 22 Nov 2010, 22:50

I think Inhalation is not enough easy to activate
and beginner level is to hard (this is my opinion, but ...)
--
It seem having a problem with Island track (maybe driveleines)
STK 3D animation
My work is under the licence you want
User avatar
rudy85
 
Posts: 420
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 13:44
Location: France

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Static Juice » 22 Nov 2010, 23:19

I've noticed a couple of minor bugs in the latest SVN.

XR591 has gone back to the 'Druckverlust' music. It needs to be 'SkyVibe - High Frequency' again. :p
And this one's not really a bug, but I think the folder 'snowtuxpeak' should be called 'snowpeak'.

Cheers
User avatar
Static Juice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Jan 2010, 04:24
Location: New Zealand

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby hiker » 23 Nov 2010, 00:50

rudy85 {l Wrote}:I think Inhalation is not enough easy to activate

Well, it's not supposed to be too easy, but I think there might be a bug somewhere, since I had issues getting it to work previously in a track or two. Probably related to the track design, it might not work properly all the time when going uphill or downhill.

and beginner level is to hard (this is my opinion, but ...)

Other people have complained that it is too boring. We will tune the final parameters after the upcoming beta release, and we certainly need input, esp. from new players (since we can't really judge the speed for beginners etc).

It seem having a problem with Island track (maybe driveleines)

I think auria did some changes yesterday. Did you use this version?

Cheers,
Joerg
hiker
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:15
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby charlie » 23 Nov 2010, 02:04

Beginner level should be boring (if by boring you mean really easy).

Or perhaps another difficulty level - Kids.
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2133
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby Auria » 23 Nov 2010, 03:03

Static Juice {l Wrote}:I've noticed a couple of minor bugs in the latest SVN.

XR591 has gone back to the 'Druckverlust' music. It needs to be 'SkyVibe - High Frequency' again. :p
And this one's not really a bug, but I think the folder 'snowtuxpeak' should be called 'snowpeak'.

Cheers


How embarrassing, thanks for the report ;)
About folder names, they do tend to be short and not always the full name, that's not a bug ;)
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2976
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby teddy » 23 Nov 2010, 13:02

Is it me or launchpad has changed the way it handles translations?
Now when I translate something it goes as "suggestion" instead of being the real translation.
What should I do?
teddy
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Jun 2010, 11:32

Re: SuperTuxKart 0.7 alpha 3 release

Postby asciimonster » 23 Nov 2010, 13:33

Did you tick the "This translation should be reviewed" checkbox? If ticked, your translation is accepted as a suggestion.

I don't really lik launchpad. There is no logic in the way you navigate trough the pages...
asciimonster
 
Posts: 375
Joined: 03 Dec 2009, 18:24

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest