addon upload question

addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 01 Jan 2019, 20:38

I finished my track canyon 42 (https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8214) and want to upload it to addons.

I created my own library nodes. Is there a special structure how track and library nodes need to be organized (directory structure). Are own library nodes even supported for addons?
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 02 Jan 2019, 18:18

i tried to upload it now to addons, but I got an error that the file size is too big. where is the limit?? ( I already reduced the size from 68 to 34 MB by excluding source files and reducing resolution of some textures now).
There is no information about the size limit on the upload page too.
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby GeekPenguinBR » 02 Jan 2019, 18:59

"Making cool harmless games makes the world a better place".
User avatar
GeekPenguinBR
 
Posts: 379
Joined: 22 Mar 2014, 00:41
Location: Rio de Janeiro

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 03 Jan 2019, 17:35

i made some progress, but I got an error which comes from a materials.xml file from custom library nodes

{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
FileSystem Exception: Error while trying to flatten the archive. This might happen because files from subdirectories have the same name as files from the root directory. Error = `Failed to move file = "/tmp/stk-uploads/1546532755-canyon_42.zip/library/stklib_barrel_a/materials.xml" to new location = "/tmp/stk-uploads/1546532755-canyon_42.zip/materials.xml" because it already exists`


I have a structure like this:

regular track files (track.xml, materials.xml, textures...)
library (folder)
>> stklib_...(subfolders for lib nodes)
>>>> lib node content (node.xml, materials.xml...)

How can I fix this??
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby QwertyChouskie » 03 Jan 2019, 20:58

Another weird "feature" of stkaddons, it flattens zips. Bug report: https://github.com/supertuxkart/stk-addons/issues/79
Not an official dev, but a huge fan of STK!
User avatar
QwertyChouskie
 
Posts: 259
Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:57

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 04 Jan 2019, 18:35

I have these options now:

1: "merge" the library nodes into the track

2: wait until library nodes are supported / a bug is fixed on the addons page, so that I can upload the track without problems

I think I will choose the first option and retry the upload again (in a few days)
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby MTres19 » 05 Jan 2019, 00:10

Please do NOT merge library nodes into the track. If you do, the textures they use will reference the file you imported them from and we'll have the same problem that I'm working on fixing with Sven's track (Black Forest). If they're good enough to be integrated into the game, they should be posted separately. Remember, always design your track as if it were going to be part of the core game. That way there are no problems with Blender keeping track of texture/library files.
User avatar
MTres19
 
Posts: 189
Joined: 17 Aug 2015, 20:15

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 05 Jan 2019, 19:29

the track including all library nodes can be found here: https://platen-software.de/sebastian/canyon_42_RC2.zip
including source files and license information.
(I also tried to post them here STK assets subforum, but these are too large for an attachment here)
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 08 Jan 2019, 19:07

Still no update ?!
The library nodes can be found in the download link for the track in the post above...
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby Auria » 09 Jan 2019, 01:08

Hi, so I think there are 2 issues IIUC?

1) library nodes can be integrated inside a track, just create a directory named "library" at the root of your track

2) given the size that's too large for the addons, there's a few issues. First, split the blend files out of this please, exported tracks and blender files (including backup blend1 files) should be submitted in two different packages (one package containing only the exported files and texture, another containing the sources). Same thing for the XCF gimp files, they should not be part of the exported package. Then there are some HUGE textures in there, for instance I've spotted a few 2048x2048 png normal maps taking over 7 MB, that would use a lot of vram and probably require a 4k screen to notice, they might be a way to use 1024 textures there, perhaps with smarter texture mapping ?
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Re: addon upload question

Postby rubberduck » 09 Jan 2019, 18:58

I tried to upload it multiple times (the first try I used the big zip including all the source files).
Then I created a package with smaller textures and excluding source files. The following download file is actually the package I tried to upload, which is smaller < 30 MB

https://platen-software.de/sebastian/canyon_42.zip

When I tried to upload that it gave me this error:
{l Code}: {l Select All Code}
FileSystem Exception: Error while trying to flatten the archive. This might happen because files from subdirectories have the same name as files from the root directory. Error = `Failed to move file = "/tmp/stk-uploads/1546532755-canyon_42.zip/library/stklib_barrel_a/materials.xml" to new location = "/tmp/stk-uploads/1546532755-canyon_42.zip/materials.xml" because it already exists`


I also created a directory called "library" in this case.
working on LaundredSheep, a 3D platformer game
https://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7531
User avatar
rubberduck
 
Posts: 649
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 18:31
Location: sitting with tux in a bathtub

Re: addon upload question

Postby QwertyChouskie » 09 Jan 2019, 22:58

Yeah, the problem is stkaddons in flattening the directory when it shouldn't. Auria can you get https://github.com/supertuxkart/stk-addons/issues/79 fixed so this can be uploaded?
Not an official dev, but a huge fan of STK!
User avatar
QwertyChouskie
 
Posts: 259
Joined: 29 Jun 2016, 14:57

Re: addon upload question

Postby Auria » 13 Jan 2019, 02:52

QwertyChouskie {l Wrote}:Yeah, the problem is stkaddons in flattening the directory when it shouldn't. Auria can you get https://github.com/supertuxkart/stk-addons/issues/79 fixed so this can be uploaded?


I am not very familiar with the addons website code, but hopefully Leyyin will have the time to take a look
Image
User avatar
Auria
STK Moderator
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 03:52

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest