License for SuperTux videos?

License for SuperTux videos?

Postby MCMic » 29 Mar 2016, 16:56

Hello,

Since I’m speedrunning SuperTux, I find myself uploading lots of SuperTux videos to prove my times.
I was wondering under which license should these videos be?
Is there a copyleft license for all supertux data which applies in this case?
MCMic

Re: License for SuperTux videos?

Postby Hume2 » 29 Mar 2016, 17:09

You have my word that I won't complain if you do anything with that.

SuperTux is covered by the license GPL CC-BY-SA-3.0. I'm not a lawyer, so don't ask me about details. And I advertize you to not ask two lawyers, because they will have another opinion :) .
Hume2

Postby brmbrmcar » 29 Mar 2016, 17:43

Just keep them under the CC-BY-SA. Makes things easier. And also, the team cannot complain then. :D
brmbrmbrmbrmbrmbrmcar
brmbrmcar

Postby onpon4 » 29 Mar 2016, 18:06

I don't know where you live, but gameplay videos are well-established to be fair use in the U.S.
onpon4

Postby Hume2 » 29 Mar 2016, 19:18

If you want to put them on YouTube, I think you're fine. Even if it was a bit illegal, noone will notice :) .

EDIT: Just don't mention the legality at all and tell those annoying people that you are allowed to share those videos.
Hume2

Postby brmbrmcar » 29 Mar 2016, 19:22

I just put them in Creative Commons, but I haven't seen anyone else do so with SuperTux videos. They all seem fine.
brmbrmbrmbrmbrmbrmcar
brmbrmcar

Postby Akien » 29 Mar 2016, 19:38

Hume2 {l Wrote}:EDIT: Just don't mention the legality at all and tell those annoying people that you are allowed to share those videos.

Sure... Let's do that with SuperTux too and distribute it without license.
Godot Engine project manager and maintainer.
Occasional FOSS gamedev: Lugaru, OpenDungeons, Jetpaca, Minilens.
Akien

Postby brmbrmcar » 29 Mar 2016, 19:44

Akien {l Wrote}: