Website

Website

Postby StefanP.MUC » 26 Feb 2011, 17:30

The custom-style wiki is nice for a begin and later for documentation of development related things. But I think, sooner or later you should try to get a nice looking "normal" website up and running (for example with a milestone like OD 0.5).
I think something like http://openttd.org/ or http://openclonk.org/or http://frogatto.com/

I think that would be more "user oriented" for gamers that don't know about OpenSource, Coding and "Snapshot releases" and theese things: So for gamers that simply want to play a nice game.
StefanP.MUC

Re: Website

Postby svenskmand » 27 Feb 2011, 00:53

That would be nice, but I have no knowledge about writing webpages :S and Xapantu is mostly busy with STK I thing, and it takes time to make a good looking website IMO. But if your game I say go for it :)
Jamendo.com - The best music store on the net, uses CC licenses.
svenskmand
OD Moderator

Postby Bodsda » 28 Feb 2011, 14:48

If anyone is willing to create a website, I can provide a web server.

Bodsda
Bodsda
OD Moderator

Postby svenskmand » 28 Feb 2011, 15:10

I think SourceForge will suffice as a webserver as we are already using it for the wiki :)
svenskmand
OD Moderator

Postby oln » 28 Feb 2011, 15:15

Probably. I have webspace as well if it should be needed.

Setting up a cms, that possibly integrates the wiki is not a big job, i could probably have a look at it.
We would need a nice looking design though.
oln

Postby StefanP.MUC » 28 Feb 2011, 15:36

Using MediaWiki is OK. And you already have a basic layout direction on the SF wiki. But it still has the mediawiki "monobook" arrangement. I never liked it for "regular" websites (not even on Wikipedia).