OpenWolf

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 14 Mar 2013, 00:04

Hello guys
I was few months since I posted here any news

Update is really good I believe. I have finally manage to successfully run Torque3D under Linux :)
I will in next few days share code with others on my GitHub fork (along with updated cMake for compiling solution) so everybody can use and test it

Here is two screenshots and pastebin link with console.log.
EDIT: I will update more photos when I try game on real Linux machine (currently I have Ubuntu inside VMWare)

Screenshot 1
Image

Screenshot 2
Image

console.log
http://pastebin.com/vCjcEf02
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 14 Mar 2013, 07:51

That is great news... how about you set up a donation page? After all the GG campain for a Torque3D Linux port had $10k pledged and some of those people might be willing to donate for a working port as well!
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 14 Mar 2013, 12:30

As I promised yesterday.
More screenshots of WORKING Torque3D on Linux (I have test this on Debian and Ubuntu).

Screenshot 1
Image

Screenshot 2
Image

Screenshot 3
Image

Screenshot 4
Image

console.log
http://pastebin.com/N6qEX9ce
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Evropi » 14 Mar 2013, 18:31

OMG! Are you going to contribute these changes back?!

I can't see the toolchain being ported anytime soon, but that's pretty awesome, good job Dushan.
You just wasted 3 seconds of your life reading this.
User avatar
Evropi
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 16:18
Location: London, England

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 14 Mar 2013, 20:07

Evropi wrote:OMG! Are you going to contribute these changes back?!

I can't see the toolchain being ported anytime soon, but that's pretty awesome, good job Dushan.


I will see about tools for Torque3D in next few days :-)
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 14 Mar 2013, 23:01

Youtube video as proof of working Torque3D on Linux


youtu.be/_2bdP2ibXAY
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 14 Mar 2013, 23:53

That should become an official part of Torque3D ;) Great work so far!
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Evropi » 14 Mar 2013, 23:59

Bit choppy... still awesome :D
You just wasted 3 seconds of your life reading this.
User avatar
Evropi
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 16:18
Location: London, England

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 15 Mar 2013, 00:05

Well, to be honest, I never said that its perfect port and that is working perfectly, there is still much work, input system is kinda broken, OpenGL renderer need to be brought on the same level as DirectX renderer, there are more stuff what I don't like there. As I posted on GarageGames forum, I strongly believe its better that we unite all platforms under SDL, so all supported platforms (Windows, MacOS, Unix, Android, iOS, FreeBSD, ARoS ...) have ~ same OpenGL context, audio, window management and input.
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby charlie » 17 Mar 2013, 18:46

This and Übergame would seem to have somewhat overlapping goals (at the very least, both using Torque3D, both FPS games with realistic aspirations).
Free Gamer - it's the dogz
Vexi - web UI platform
User avatar
charlie
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 11:56
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 24 Mar 2013, 00:14

One more update on whole Torque3D on Linux thingy :)

I got semi-working OpenAL sound inside my fork of Torque 3D

EDIT: picture is too big so I uploaded as attachment
Attachments
zVzOb2v.png
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 25 Mar 2013, 01:51

To share one picture :)

http://pastebin.com/ML3yjDA

Image

This maybe is looking like something bad, but see in pastebin console.log that this is Torque3D working on Gallium 0.4 on SVGA3D; build: RELEASE, version 2.1 Mesa 9.0.2 provided by VMWare.
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 25 Mar 2013, 23:59

I would like to present working Sixense Razer Hydra for Torque3D on Linux :)

EDIT:
provided better console.log
http://pastebin.com/HC0cR4ty

Image

I don't have device to do real testing, but I believe that its 100% working.

This build is also with Bullet physics enabled. As you can see inside "% - Initializing Physics Tools" you don't have anymore "No physics plugin exists." like in my other builds and console.logs what I shared here.
EDIT: As you can see inside pastebin link, there is "Bullet Physics parallel threads: [2]"
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Evropi » 26 Mar 2013, 02:46

Very good!

Have you actually tried running it outside a VM though? Maybe all the fancy OpenGL will work and the graphics will display when you run it with real drivers and not just Mesa.
You just wasted 3 seconds of your life reading this.
User avatar
Evropi
 
Posts: 333
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 16:18
Location: London, England

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 28 Mar 2013, 23:18

This youtube video is showing Torque3D working on real Linux machine (not VMWare) :)


youtu.be/y1PkbkVTp88

In this video, you can see OpenGL renderer with basic lighting, OpenAl sound system and World Editor.
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 28 Mar 2013, 23:44

Awesome work so far! What GPU (and drivers) was this running on?
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 28 Mar 2013, 23:52

Julius wrote:Awesome work so far! What GPU (and drivers) was this running on?


GPU is nVidia GT525M with nVidia Propitiatory Drivers
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 04 May 2013, 15:08

Any news on this awesome porting effort?
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 06 May 2013, 19:19

Julius wrote:Any news on this awesome porting effort?


Nothing important considering Linux port, I did small things there on filesystem (I didn't commited that on public repo on GitHub)
My other work on Linux port is located on GitHub what I shared with community, but I am not really happy with feedback what I received from GarageGames community.
When others posted that I was working and have semi-working (two things are broken inside Linux port - input system and editor) they started debating how there should one GFX system, and stuff like that ...
I have open to public my Linux repo and hoped that somebody will contribute to that so I don't be the only one who is working on it, but so far I didn't actually saw that there is pulse in community for helping others who came after Toque3D went opensource under MIT license.
Technically how I see on some stuff they are ignoring community wishes and their own Feature Requests and Suggestions! I would be really excited that somebody prove me that I am wrong on that one.

My latest work considering Torque3D development was successfully support for Dual Monitors inside engine (there is little secret inside that, I was shooting at supporting full Eyefinity, but it's shame that I don't have hardware to fully test that), so I tested only with two monitors.
Attachments
P1040730.JPG
P1040729.JPG
P1040728.JPG
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Duion » 06 May 2013, 21:07

I would help , but I have no idea on the coding part.

But I would not say that they are ignoring the wishes, I think there is just not many people working on these things, for example there is just one garagegames employee working full time. Similar problem was discussed in this thread: http://www.garagegames.com/community/forums/viewthread/133982/2#comment-843808

The open source Torque3D version is very young, the community has yet to grow, especially the linux side.
Duion
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 20:33
Location: Germany

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 07 May 2013, 21:03

Yeah, same here, would love to help, but coding is really not my strength.
Maybe once there is an open-source game actually using Torque3D, we will be able to gather more interest in the port from the outside Linux community.
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 09 May 2013, 00:08

Update - T3D on Linux, again with Gallium3D, just much better now

You have here screenshots how it looked before, few months ago
Image

This is how it is looking now
Image

I will post more screenshots after I test this on real machine
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Re: OpenWolf

Postby Julius » 15 May 2013, 22:09

Do you have a 64bit binary release somewhere which I could try?
“You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete” - Buckminster Fuller
User avatar
Julius
Moderator
 
Posts: 1393
Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:02
Location: Kampala

Re: OpenWolf

Postby TheDushan » 15 May 2013, 22:27

I don't have Torque3D for x64 Linux distributions. I only have Windows x64 at this moment (I believe that it shouldn't be really hard to provide x64 Linux version). When I posted on GarageGames forum that I have little problems on Win64 build with reading Torque3D script files (.cs), Scott Burns from GarageGames told me, let me quote that (you can find that on GarageGames forum, I can give you link to topic)

" T3D is a 32-bit application, not a 64 bit. Trying to build it in 64 bit will fail because it's not supported. "
and
" Sorry, I should have worded that differently. I meant the problem is that you built it on x64, which is not supported. "

Because of all that I have kept my x64 support for Torque3D only for myself at this moment (I will share it with others after I provide proper Ubuntu Touch interface). I will update Linux repo at GitHub with my latest Linux stuff. At that time when I asked for little help from GarageGames community, I was rookie and just started to learn Torque3D engine, and after I asked for little help ( to point me in right direction on fixing problem ) they answered to me like that. To tell truth I really didn't like that kind of answer from him.
TheDushan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 10:08

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests