Make use of real world data

Make use of real world data

Postby heyda » 08 Jan 2013, 18:43

Hi, as I'm active at the OpenStreetMap project, I'd like to ask if somebody might help me with importing real world data? It's basically just an proof of concept (nothing final), but I use the OSM2World framework to convert OSM data to .OBJ and import them to blender. But I'm not very good at blender and don't know if I could add all STK specific changes just on my own and if I could deal with all problems (scale, performance ....).

It's just an try to see if it's general possible (so the player car should drive along the roads, no AE stuff, keeping things simple) so I could include the experiences in a talk about 3D and OSM (of course will mention your community as well) and to show a proof of what is possible with the teamplay of opensource and open data :)

Here my current testbed, a small part of the city of Rostock (Germany), converted with the current OSM2World version:
http://ikaria.informatik.uni-rostock.de ... .blend.zip (ODBL licensed)
Attachments
first.jpg
heyda

Re: Make use of real world data

Postby ctdabomb » 08 Jan 2013, 19:14

so you want to make tracks based on the real world? It sounds cool(I tried this once before with OpenStreetMap but I couldn't for some reason), but the poly count might get too high, the building might not be detailed enough(or too detailed) etc.....
but I really like the idea and think it should be perused more.
Some people are like slinkies... not really good for anything, but you still can't help smiling when you shove them down the stairs.
ctdabomb

Postby WillemS » 08 Jan 2013, 19:25