accessing ground-truth kart position

accessing ground-truth kart position

Postby dmochow » 26 Sep 2014, 06:26

I am a brain researcher using STK as a stimulus whose responses we are recording with EEG.

I am looking to find a way to access the ground-truth _screen_ position of each kart for each frame, so that I can then relate the measured brain signal to the kart position. The code base / data structures are quite expansive, and I am wondering if anybody knows which classes/functions may contain this information. I'm assuming that since each kart has to be rendered on the screen at each frame, that this information must be passed somewhere along the way. My goal is to "intercept" this information from the appropriate function call.

Thanks in advance.
dmochow

Re: accessing ground-truth kart position

Postby konstin » 27 Sep 2014, 20:46

I'm neither the physics nor the graphics expert, but I hope I can point you to the right places in the code:

All the code is in the src/ directory in the git-repository (https://github.com/supertuxkart/stk-code). The to relevant classes are Kart (karts/kart.cpp) and Camera (graphics/camera.cpp). To get the position of the kart the camera follows (which is normally the player kart) use Camera::getActiveCamera()->getKart()->getXYZ()->toIrrVector(). The viewport of the camera is returned by Camera::getActiveCamera()->getViewport(). As the computation of the kart position is done by OpenGL and I don't expect you want to change OpenGL, you have to do the computation of the position manually. It shouldn't be to difficult with some vector math and sinus/cosinus. The place to do that is probably the end of Camera::update because this method is called every frame and all important variables can be accessed there without big prefixes.
konstin

Postby dmochow » 28 Sep 2014, 19:28

Konstin,
Thanks so much for pointing me to those methods -- using the camera position is a great idea.
dmochow

Postby samuncle » 01 Oct 2014, 23:57