How to build for Windows? Noob help

How to build for Windows? Noob help

Postby HellFire2345 » 22 Sep 2014, 01:41

I am a complete noob when it comes to C++ and visual studio, and the current tutorial on how to build the game for windows doesn't give enough information... When using cmake, it fails to find a bunch of libraries and includes, so I directed them to the correct places, and I managed to get a .sln that I can open in VS2013. However, there are a lot of compiling errors, and somehow once I managed to compile the game under Debug, the game crashes on startup, and under Release, the game doesn't even open.

Can someone possibly give me EVERY STEP I need to take in order to build the game under VS2013? Help would be greatly appreciated.
HellFire2345

Re: How to build for Windows? Noob help

Postby Auria » 23 Sep 2014, 02:07

Hi,

it's hard to help when we don't know what the problem is.
can you please try to follow the tutorial on the website, but when you meet a problem, simply post the exact error message here?
Auria
STK Moderator

Postby HellFire2345 » 23 Sep 2014, 04:17

Sorry if I'm sounding like a complete idiot here, but I don't do a lot of programming in Visual Studio and it's very confusing to me.
I only want to build the game for Windows, I can compile for Linux fine but windows seems to be where my troubles are.
Exact steps I took, I'm not sure what's relevant and what's not, but here:

1. Installed Visual Studio 2013 for Desktop. Running Windows 7 32-bit. Works fine.
2. Downloaded the code from the "Download ZIP" button on https://github.com/supertuxkart/stk-code
3. Extracted the folder inside stk-code-master to C:\TuxKart ----> C:\TuxKart\stk-code-master\
4. Downloaded dependencies_for_0.8.2-new.zip from the github page. Extracted dependencies folder to C:\TuxKart\stk-code-master\ ----> C:\TuxKart\stk-code-master\dependencies.
5. SVN checkout stk-assets to C:\TuxKart, ----> C:\TuxKart\stk-assets\
6. Installed cmake, ran cmake-gui.