TMNT Project!

TMNT Project!

Postby jdebner » 04 Apr 2011, 04:42

Hey Guys,

So I am currently a student at CMU and we do this crazy thing where we build this structure called a booth for an event across campus. These booths are made for children and people of all sorts to walk through and enjoy. They are themed and contain rooms which go along with the theme and have games for people to play. This year our theme is Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. My plan which is pretty ambitious is to take the STK game, create a TMNT kart and add some textures to a city level which have some TMNT "graffiti" and set up the game to be played on a Wii Fit balance board.

I have a ridiculous time-line... a week and a half, but I have lots of people to help me with artwork and another guys is almost done getting the balance board input done. I don't know any blender so it's going to be an exciting experiment for me to see what I can do.

If anyone wants to direct me to resources or anything I'm more than open to help, but I'll be posting on here as I go through my learning process and see what I can do.

Tonight, I start blender tutorials!
jdebner

Re: TMNT Project!

Postby Kinsu » 04 Apr 2011, 08:10

Hi !

I've nearly finished a kart for STK, and it took me more time than I expected to do it. Here are my advices to make a kart in a short time :

1. Before starting Blender : choose well your design ! An angular kart is waay faster to do than a round one. Choose a simple character also (or at least hide his legs, for instance, so you won't have to model them). The more you know what should look like your kart, the more modeling will be fast.

2. Then : get 4 views of your kart : front, left, top, and back, the most important since this is the one players will see the most. Be careful to respect dimensions from one image to another (eg. wheels have to be aligned from one image to another). example